Chapter 1

As a self proclaimed bookworm I am not shy about my love of reading! I could spend hours, and hundreds of dollars in Barnes and Noble or my local used book store. Walking into a book store is like walking into an amusement park for me. It’s the Smell of the pages, hearing the crack of the book’s spine, it’s where I belong.

I read a variety genres, but the one’s closest to my heart are Science fiction, Fantasy, and Young Adult literature. Science Fiction and Fantasy has always appealed to me because…who wouldn’t want to read books about wizards, magic, space and time travel?! I know right?! But I also love it because it’s so radically different than anything I’ve experienced, and the main characters are usually strong brave, and beyond that they are rooted in morality. They always do what’s right even to the determent of themselves. They are heroes who sacrifice everything for their cause and fight for what they believe in. Growing up I was very into the idea of good verses evil and I wanted to be on the side of good, I wanted to be able to stand up for what was right and win. As an adult I still feel that way, I strive to make meaning in my life and do something meaningful. I haven’t saved the world or changed the course of history but I still dream about it, and more than that I still plan on it.

The more I experience in life the more I understand that right and wrong aren’t black and white. There is a gray area and it can sometimes be hard to navigate. As my understanding of right and wrong develops so does the journey of the characters in the books I read. I see and understand their struggle and am able to make that journey with them. It’s not just the moral journey that brings me to these books.

Science fiction and fantasy often take social issues to the extreme and help me examine our society in a different way. For example I recently read Ready Player One (Fan-freakin-tastic by the way) but this book takes on the issue of how technology is taking over our society, and what could potentially happen if we let it overtake our world. Now don’t get me wrong I love technology…like LOVE technology, and a fully immersive science class where I could walk around the human heart would be AMAZING, but if no one ever left the house what would happen to our bodies? our parks? or world? People already make the argument that my generation can be brutally honest from behind a screen (hmm blog much haha) but unable to honestly communicate face to face. How would we even interact with each other if we spent our lives in a virtual world? I never thought about it that way, and this book showed me a different side. I still don’t know how I feel about it, but since I don’t have to make a decision right now I just kind of think on it. Which brings me to my next point. These generas make me think and reevaluate and think some more. I love it!

 

The other big draw for me is the way women are portrayed. Yes sometimes they can be over-sexualized and ridiculously skinny (Thanks Marvel and DC) but they train hard, fight hard, and love harder. They use their emotions as fodder to their fight and are not hampered by them. I often see women portrayed as excessively and irrationally emotional. Obsessed with finding their prince charming or “the one”. They are shown as letting their emotions control their bad decision making, and just plain weak. My gender is shown as being unable or unwilling to control their emotions and  the only way to they are able to cope is to have another person (usually a male) help them, save them (etc) Bleh!

The emotions of love and loss can be harnessed into something great. Social change is usually preceded by someone who had a strong emotion and harnessed it. Women in these fanciful worlds harness their emotions and use them as strengths, they embrace their weaknesses and become forces to be reckoned with. Those are the roll models I craved as a little girl, and the one’s I hope to pass onto my daughter (should I ever be so honored 😀 ). I mean Hermione showed me that it’s ok to be a bookworm (and a little bit of a know it all), and that when you have to make a choice between your great love and winning a wizarding war you choose to fight that war. Even if he leaves, yeah she cried but she never gave up. She didn’t let her emotions define her, she harnessed that sadness and used it to strengthen her resolve. Women in these generas inspire me to be strong and show us all that we define ourselves as people. We are not defined by our gender or any other label someone tries to slap on us.

Hooray Sci-fi/Fantasy!

In short (or long) these are the main reasons I love the books I love. I will post some book reviews and recommendations on my “Brazen Bookworm” page if you want to check it out 🙂

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wangent
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 21:26:27

    Nice! I can’t wait to read more of your bookish thoughts.

    Reply

  2. Wangent
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 20:41:42

    Also, I think, once I get an XBOX, we should maybe blog about games. Hahahah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

